Dragonflies around Etruria, Stoke on Trent

A few weeks ago I went for a walk with my camera, as I usually do, just to find some subjects to practise my reverse-lens and telephoto-lens macro photo skills. I am usually trying to capture bees, bumble bees, flies and ladybirds as they are quite easy to find around here. Today, to my surprise, I spotted some dragonflies flying around!

It was actually on my way back from the photo walk when I stopped at a small lake to capture some butterflies. Suddenly a dragonfly flew by. I was thinking it was hopeless to try to take picture of it, because they fly so fast, and focused on butterflies and ladybirds instead.

However, after some time I noticed one sitting on a wooden fence, basking in the sun. That was my chance. I fired some shots and when I saw it doesn´t move, I tried to come closer and experiment a bit with lenses and settings.

Later on I spotted another orange one and also there was a blue dragonfly. You can see the best pictures in the gallery below:

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks 🙂 I was surprised as well, I tried to move close slowly and apparently that was enough.

    Like

  2. Razel says:

    Wow, great photos! You really got up close there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

