WPC – 4 in 1: Creepy, Connected, Monochromatic, Grid

I haven´t posted any picture for the Weekly Photo Challenge for more than a month, so today I´m gonna catch up and do four in one. All images are from my travels around Europe.

Creepy

This picture is from the ossuary in Sedlec near Kutna Hora (Czech Republic). This creepy but interesting chapel is located partly under ground. The entrance is from the graveyard and you descend into the chapel on stairs. In each of the corners of the chapel there are piles of bones and the bones also decorate the chapel. There is a bone chandelier that is supposed to contain “at least one of every human bone” (found here) and the coat of arms you can see on my picture. Altogether there are bones from more than 40.000 human skeletons. If you´re interested, you will find more information about the ossuary and the origin of the bones here.

kostnice, Kutna Hora, human bones, Czech republic

Connected

My interpretation of this topic showcases the Barrakka lift in Valletta, Malta. This 58 metres high elevator was opened in 2012 and it offers an easy connection between the city and the waterfront.

Barakka, lift, Valletta, Malta

Monochromatic

When I took this picture, I knew it would be great for some competition/challenge on the topic of green or monochrome colour. Now it´s its time to show it to the world 🙂 It was taken in Siena in Italy. I wonder whether the green bike is parked there on purpose or if it´s pure coincidence.

monochromatic, green, monochrome, italy

Grid

This is a very fresh photo. I took it today during my trip to Leek in Staffordshire, UK. It´s a path leading to a pub garden. The geometric patterns and nearly black-and-white colours caught my eye.

grid, monochromatic, urban, geometric, black and white

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Yes, the monochromatic picture looks great! The pipes add a little raw flair to the whole thing, no?
    By the way, nice blog!

    Like

  2. Hello there, There’s no doubt that your web site might be having internet browser compatibility issues. Whenever I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, thanks. I checked the page on IE today and I could not even open it. Strange… I always use Mozilla or Android mobile browser, so I did not notice any issues. Not sure what to do now, I guess I will first check comments on the theme page.

      Like

  3. Your style is very unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great photos and great idea combining challenges. I am a bit behind as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

