Edible advent calendars – Part 1: Tea

As I announced in my previous post, in November I will publish a mini series of posts about advent calendars for food a drinks lovers.

I got this idea when I was browsing the Internet for interesting advent calendars. I found many articles dedicated to chocolate or cosmetics calendars and some about alternative calendars where usually different types were mixed. Here I´d like to categorize them to give you an overview of the options you have if you want to eat or drink the contents of your advent calendar.

In a later post I´ll cover the most obvious option, chocolate, as well, but let´s start with something a bit less predictable. Tea advent calendars. This is the top 10 of what I saw. First there is the name of the product or producer, then a short description follows. I always state the cost as well. Some of them are affordable, some of them pricey. All of them look great. Ready?

  • Joyous Christmas by the English Tea Shop – on Amazon you can buy a pack of 2 (50 tea bags) for 11,20 GBP. That´s a bargain, no? Some of the flavours are called Happy Holiday, Silent Night or Sleigh Ride. Truly Christmassy.
  • Posttea – contains 24 tea packets of loose tea. The flavours range from Lemon Gunpowder through Aromatic Black Chai to Genmaicha Popcorn Tea and many more. Each sachet should be enough for 2 – 3 cups. On the Posttea page it costs 43,25 GBP, however I read here that if you type in ADVENTTREAT as a code during checkout, you will get 15 % off. Also, I found it a bit cheaper, just under 40 GBP here.
  • Dammann Freres – features 24 different flavoured and herbal teas. It costs 20 EUR. The original site seems to be in French only, but I found detailed information about the flavours in English here. For example Atomic Lemon sounds really interesting!
  • Tea Forte – 24 portions with flavours like Winter Chai, White Cinnamon Sage, Caramel Nougat, and Orange Pomegranate. 33,99 GBP. Seems to be currently unavailable, though.
  • Harrods – currently sold out, costs 12,95 GBP. It contains selection of 13 organic black and green teas with spices and flavourings in 25 tea bags.
  • Teekanne Tea – available via Amazon. They don´t provide information about the tea types, but they claim that it contains 24 tea bags. Costs 19,95 GBP.
  • Advent Christmas tea gift set by Victoria Mae Designs – available from here for 19,50 GBP.  You can decide if you want just English Breakfast tea or a selection of flavours that include English Breakfast, Earl Grey, Darjeeling, Camomile, Rooibos, Indian Spice Chai, Mint, Jasmine Green Tea and Honeybush.
  • Imperial Teas – selection of 25 types of tea for 33 GBP. You can also go for a version with a teapot for 48 GBP.
  • David´s Tea – this looks to be a really popular tea since I found articles from several previous years complaining that it´s been sold out. I spotted that people seem to have the same issue this year as well, but I checked eBay and it´s available! David´s Tea website seems to target the USA and Canada, but from eBay you can order it to the UK as well. It will cost you approximately 48 GBP.  If you want to have a sneak peek to see what to expect, click here.
  • Fortnum Mason – if you can afford to splash out, go for this tea advent calendar in a beautiful wooden box, where you will find “rare teas sourced from India and the Far East”.  125 GBP.

Do you buy advent calendars for yourself or as a present? Do you like the idea of tea advent calendars? Are there any other tea advent calendars that I missed from this list? Let me know!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. It does for me as well. Once I had a calendar with single sachets. I don´t remember the brand, maybe Teekanne. I loved the variety of flavours!

    Like

  2. A tea advent calendar sounds very appealing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

