Cherry chocolate cake

I haven´t baked anything for some time and I bought some cherries last Sunday, so I decided to make a cherry cake. I found a recipe in one Czech cookbook called “Velká kuchařka naší babičky” (Our Grandma´s Big Cookbook) and I adjusted it a bit.

Recipe:

  • 5 eggs
  • 100g vegetable fat
  • 250g powder sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/2 bag of baking powder
  • 2 spoons of cream or milk
  • 250g flour for baking cakes (polohrubá for Czechs and Slovaks, I used rye flour beacause I didn´t have any other at home)
  • a bit of grated lemon peel from a bio lemon (I had just an ordinary Tesco lemon, so I only squeezed out some lemon juice)
  • 500g cherries
  • the recipe doesn´t include cocoa, but I added it, because I wanted a chocolate cake.

Mix the fat (I used vegetable oil) with sugar and egg yolks. Add cream, lemon peel, salt, flour and baking powder. Beat egg whites until the mass gets fluffy and mix it carefully into the dough. Grease a baking tray and spread the mixture onto it. Cover with washed cherries (I also removed their stones) and bake.

Cherry chocolate cake

The recipe doesn´t say how long to bake it and at which temperature, I think I baked it for 40 minutes at 220°C. Juct check it towards the end how well baked it is.

Cherry chocolate cake

I liked it very much and I will definitely make it again.

Shared at Razel´s blog World and Time Enough for Tasty Thursdays event – check it out.

One Comment Add yours

  1. desleyjane says:

    Yum! And the theme looks great.

    Like

Leave a comment

