Dragonfly at the Westport lakes, Stoke on Trent

Yesterday I took my bike and ventured along the canal towards the Westport lakes in Stoke on Trent.

I was hoping to see a heron somewhere along the way to take pictures of it, but I was not lucky.

However, around halfway around the lake I spotted a big dragonfly. It was definitely much bigger than those I have seen last year around the small lake in Etruria. Unfortunately, this year I saw only one dragonfly and a few damselflies there. So this encounter came as a nice, a bit unexpected compensation.

The dragonfly was moving in a pattern, always coming back to this piece of wood sticking out from the water. I positioned myself so that I can shoot when it appears there and waited for my moments.

These are the best snaps from the session:

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. desleyjane says:

    Fabulous. Beautiful shots.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I was very lucky that it kept coming back so that I could play with the settings a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

