Matcha powder by Pure Chimp – review and recipe

Recently, I could get my hands (and taste buds) on matcha powder from Pure Chimp*.

For those of you who are not familiar with matcha, it is powder made from ground green tea leaves. Packed with antioxidants, it has multiple health benefits and it helps weight loss as well (more info here and here).

You can use it for making drinks and even for baking. One serving is equivalent to 10 cups of regular green tea!

Pure Chimp matcha powder

My matcha came in a slim 30 g package. By look the powder didn’t differ from any other matcha I’ve seen. It tasted as expected – bitter as green tea can be. But don’t worry, by adding matcha to your favourite drinks their flavour will conceal the bitterness. After trying it multiple times, I can only recommend this matcha powder by Pure Chimp.

At the beginning I had it simply whisked in a cup of latte. But I wanted to try to create my own, a bit special recipe as well.

Given the rather bitter flavour of the powder I wanted to pair it with something sweet. I was thinking to combine it with my favourite liqueur, Baileys. Finally, I came up with this recipe:

Milky matcha drink with Baileys

Ingredients:

  • Baileys – 50 ml
  • matcha powder – half a teaspoon
  • water – 1 dl
  • banana – 1/3
  • cashew milk – 1 dl
  • vanilla essence – up to you, I used cca 10 drops
  • cinnamon – up to you, I used 2 big pinches
  • ice cubes to serve

Pure Chimp matcha powder

Method:

Whisk matcha powder in water until you get rid of any lumps. Pour it into a mixer glass, add the rest of ingredients and whizz until smooth. Pour the drink in a tumbler glass, add some ice cubes if you prefer and enjoy!

The amounts in the recipe above are for one portion (cca one tumbler glass, as you can see in the picture).

If you make this drink, let me know how you liked it, thanks.

 

* Disclaimer: I received the product for free in return for writing an honest review and creating a recipe.

#supertea @purechimp

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks delicious!! Wonder if I can find this in Hawaii…or Bet I can order it on Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. And yep, it is on Amazon.

      Like

Leave a comment

