Dragonfly – compound eyes (macro)

Back in September (yep, my blog post backlog is huge) I was lucky to photograph one incredibly patient dragonfly.

Dragonflies are often shy and/or restless and it is difficult to get really close. This one was different. I have always wanted to capture the compound eye, but I never managed to get so close so that the detail wouldn’t be blurred. In September I finally managed to get photos I was happy with.

Here is the dragonfly itself:

I magnified the first photo to get the detail of the eye. You can clearly (at least on the right part) see the individual visual units of the eye:

magnified eye of a dragonfly

These photos are from even closer:

Face to face, eye to eye. Here you can also see the details of the compound eye:

Dragonfly head macro

I also converted one photo to black and white, I like how it looks, simple, stripped off of all colours. Actually, I think it is my favourite one:

Dragonfly Stoke on Trent macro

Which one do you like most?

11 Comments Add yours

  1. teabeestrips says:

    amazing pictures

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sophie says:

    These are fascinating! I was also going to ask what lens you use, but I see you’ve already answered that. Might have to think about getting a macro lens myself…

    Like

  3. Wow! These photos are incredible! Way to go! Thanks so much for sharing. Have a wonderful day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. afarawayhome says:

    I like the penultimate one the most – it’s so creepy! I think I preferred not thinking about how dragonflies can see…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KuminKueche says:

    wow wow wow, what a great photos!! what the camera and the lens that you used?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 I used Canon 70D and Canon 100mm macro lens.

      Like

Leave a comment

