Street art Saturday: Olomouc

Street art Saturday is back! This is the eighth episode of the series, this time from Olomouc in the Czech Republic. You can find links to the previous posts from the series at the bottom of the post.

We went for a day trip to Olomouc with my boyfriend and another friend in February 2015. Shamefully, till then I have been to the city only once in my life and it was to sit an entrance exam for the uni, so there was no time for sightseeing. And since I didnt get accepted to that uni, it was also the last time for many years I set my foot there.

Olomouc has a pretty historical centre with an old-town feel. If you go there, make sure you dont miss the astronomical clock at the Horní náměstí (Upper Square). 

All street art photos below are from one pedestrian underpass.

This is what the underpass looks like:

There was one Facebook-inspired graffiti. This is my favourite one, because what it says is so true. Social media, not only Facebook, reshaped our free time, if not life, very significantly, for better or worse.

Facebook inspired street art

These are some more pieces from the same location:

And there was a very creative one, basically a message written in Morse code. Im too lazy to decode it, but if somebody has time to do it, Im very interested!

Street art Olomouc Czech Republic

 

You can also check out my previous graffiti locations:

  1. Málaga
  2. Riga and Sopron
  3. Oslo
  4. Liverpool and Bristol
  5. Barcelona
  6. Bilbao
  7. Brussels
12 Comments Add yours

  1. I love seeing all the creativity an am also curious about the Morse code one 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mara Eastern says:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful post from a town I know well! The underpass is an ever-evolving work of art, quite fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I realized that we were there more than 2 years ago, I was wondering if it changed and how much.

      Like

      1. Mara Eastern says:

        Oh yes, it’s changed completely, I don’t think any of those pictures are still there, but there are new ones and they are good. It’s rare to find a spot where thoughtful graffiti can be seen. Unfortunately, I don’t have photos of the underpass myself, so I can’t share.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Time to re-visit Olomouc! 🙂

          Like

Leave a comment

