My very own first GIF with a heron (and celebrating 200 followers!)

On one sunny afternoon in June (not that we would have too many sunny afternoons here in England) I was pursuing my favourite after-work activity – heron stalking with my camera.

Often, the heron just stands still, movelessly watching out for some prey. But this time it was different. On that afternoon, maybe because it was so warm, it was a bit more relaxed and I was lucky to watch the heron doing its cleaning routine! How exciting! (A few years ago I would never think I can say something like that about bird watching :-D)

Originally I planned to write a post showing a row of pictures of the heron doing its cleaning routine, but there were so many! So I just picked one and I created a GIF from the rest. Now you can watch the whole cleaning routine of the heron as well!

My favourite photo is this one. This is what it feels like when it is finally warm and sunny in England. You just want to spread your wings and bask in the sun.

heron bird watching Stoke sunny

And this is the GIF (it is my first experiment with the GIF format). Recently, I reached the milestone of 200 followers. For some bloggers this is a very low number, for me it is big. I wanted to do something special on my blog to kind of celebrate it, and thats how I came up with the GIF idea. Do you like it? It is more like a photo presentation.

heron gif bird photography urban nature

Thats it for heron reporting for now, because I havent seen it for some time. It has been quite busy at the lake recently since the children have summer holidays, so I guess the heron now stays at some quieter place.

At least I will now have time to write some posts about my another stalking subject – dragonflies. Stay tuned!

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. kutukamus says:

    Nice first time animated GIF 🙂 🍸

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on 200 followers-I think that is awesome! Well done and what an enterprising idea with the GIF! I like your blog-travelling and eating out are two favourites of mine, also 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 Glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice! Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pauline Y says:

    Congrats on reaching 200 users!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

